13th Annual Emerson Center Lectureship Award Symposium

Dr. Emily Carter

On November 2nd, 2017, the Emerson Center held its 13th annual Lectureship Award Symposium. The theme this year was “Sustainable Energy: Fundamental Principles, Multidisciplinary Approaches, and Progress.” This year’s lectureship award winner, Dr. Emily Carter from Princeton University, gave the Keynote presentation entitled Quantum Mechanics Derived Solutions for Sustainable Energy. During her talk, Dr. Carter summarized her use of quantum mechanics “to help accelerate discovery, understanding, and optimization of materials for sustainable energy conversion processes.”

Her presentation was followed by talks from Dr. Christopher Jones, Dr. Jean-Luc Bredas, and Dr. Vince Conticello on topics ranging from atmospheric CO2 extraction to organic electronics to peptide and protein nanomaterials. These talks were proceeded by a poster session, during which students and postdocs were given the opportunity to present their research. Brandon Haines was the Poster Award winner .

Vincent Conticello in Chemistry World

Emory Professor of Chemistry Vincent Conticello was quoted in Chemistry World discussing protein materials:

“the development of silks has several significant challenges including high hydrophobicity, low solubility and limited functionality for post-processing modification. In contrast, the coiled-coil materials described here can be maintained in a soluble state and undergo a conformational conversion to β-sheets under surprisingly mild conditions. The resultant fibres can be drawn and cross-linked using standard methodologies to afford highly stable and mechanically robust materials”.

Read the full article at Chemistry World.

Congratulations, Dr. Galior!

Kornelia poses with her group and her best friend after a successful defense.
Kornelia poses with her group and her best friend after a successful defense.

Kornelia Galior successfully defended her thesis, “Protein-Based Tension Probes: From Mapping Integrin Adhesion Forces to the Mechanopharmacology of Smooth Muscle Cells” on Wednesday, April 12th, 2017. Kornelia’s thesis committed was led by Khalid Salaita with Vince Conticello and David Lynn as additional members.

During her time at Emory, Kornelia received two Quayle awards. She will start a clinical chemistry fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in July.

Congratulations, Kornelia!

Congratulations, Dr. Yang Liu!

Yang Liu in the lab. Photo provided by Yang Liu.
Yang Liu in the lab. Photo provided by Yang Liu.

Yang Liu successfully defended his thesis, “Developing Nanoparticle-based Tools to Investigate Mechanotransduction at the Living/Nonliving Interface” on Tuesday, September 6th, 2016. Yang’s thesis committee was led by Khalid Salaita with Vince Conticello and Tianquan Lian as additional members. Yang receive the 2016 Quayle Outstanding Student Award in recognition of his work at Emory. After graduation, Yang will be a postdoctoral scholar in the lab of Dr. Taekjip Ha at Johns Hopkins University Medical School in Baltimore, MD.

Congratulations, Yang!

Congratulations, Dr. Tolulope Omosun!

Tolulope Omosun. Photo provided by Tolulope Omosun.
Tolulope Omosun. Photo provided by Tolulope Omosun.

Tolulope Omosun successfully defended her thesis, “Cross-β Folds of Amyloid as a Versatile Self-Propagating Catalyst” on Wednesday, January 6th, 2016. Tolulope’s thesis committed was led by David Lynn with Brian Dyer and Vince Conticello as additional members. After graduation, Tolulope will be a Presidential Management Fellow. Bearing the Presidential moniker, the PMF Program is a flagship leadership development program at the entry level for advanced degree candidates. It was created more than three decades ago by Executive Order and is designed to develop a cadre of potential government leaders.

Congratulations, Tolulope!

Congratulations, Dr. Michael Reddish!

Michael Reddish
Michael Reddish

Michael Reddish successfully defended his thesis, “Role of Loop Motions in Enzyme Catalysis” on Wednesday, July 6th, 2015. Michael’s thesis committee was led by Brian Dyer with Vince Conticello and Tim Lian as additional members. Michael will be a visiting Lecturer in Chemistry for Emory for the 2015-2016 school year. Update: As on June 2016, Michael will be a postdoc with Peter Guengerich at Vanderbilt University Medical School.

Congratulations, Michael!