2nd Year MPH: Meredith Dixon

2nd Year MPH: Meredith Dixon

Category : #IamEmoryEPI

For this week’s #IamEmoryEpi spotlight, we met up with Meredith Dixon!

Tell us a little bit about your academic history:

I obtained my BA degree in biology (with a psychology minor) from Texas A&M University in 2003 and worked in academic scientific research labs after graduation.

What are your primary research interests?

My primary research interests include epidemiologic methods, maternal/child health, and social determinants of health.

What are you looking forward to this Spring Semester?

I am really looking forward to finishing my thesis and to graduation! I am also excited about moving into the city to shorten my commute.

Are there any exciting projects or experiences you are involved in right now?

I am working with some thoracic surgeons through Emory’s Health Services Research Center. We are analyzing patient reported outcomes in clinical practice, and I am implementing new skills as I learn them in my longitudinal data analysis class. For my thesis, I am looking at postpartum maternal mental health outcomes in Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria.

What is your favorite part about earning your MPH at Rollins?

My favorite part about earning my MPH at Emory has been the welcoming, collaborative environment, both among the faculty and among the students.

What advice do you have for 1st year MPH students?

Get to know as many faculty members as possible; they are all wonderful! Also, don’t forget to download and save all of your class slides and notes before they disappear off of Canvas.

What books are you currently reading, or what podcasts are you currently listening to?

I recently finished reading ‘Just Mercy’ by Bryan Stevenson and ‘Talking to Strangers’ by Malcolm Gladwell, both of which I really enjoyed. I am now reading ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ by David Grann. I also like the ‘Wait Wait ….Don’t Tell Me!’ podcast.

What are three fun facts that you want people to know about you?

  1. I have lived in Switzerland (for 3 years) and in France (for 10 months).
  2. I am a mother to three school-aged children – 2 girls and a boy.
  3. I love snow skiing and wish Atlanta were closer to the mountains.


Leave a Reply