2019 Honoree, Ovarian Cancer Institute, Atlanta, GA

2019 Heroes of Global Health Award, Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce

Lifetime Achievement Award, Queens College, 2019

Keynote Speaker, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) – Chemistry Seminar Series, 2018

Recipient of the Bruce Witte Distinguished Lecture Award, the Hepatitis B Foundation, 2018

Alfred Burger Award in Medicinal Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 2018

Recipient of the Carothers Award, Delaware Section of the American Chemistry Society, 2017

Antonín Holý Memorial Lecture Award, 20th International Conference on Antiviral Research/ISAR, 2015

Bristol Myers Squibb, Smissman Award for Medicinal Chemistry, 2015

Foreign Fellow, Australian Academy of Science, Technology and Engineering, 2014

Licensing Deal of the Year, Emory Office of Tech Transfer, 2014

Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, 2013

Distinguished Alumni Award, The Ohio State University, 2013

Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Queensland, Queensland, Australia, 2012

Honorary Doctor of Science, Queens College, 2012

Uncommon Courage Award, Queens College, 2012

175 Emory Historymakers Medal, 2012

IP Legends Award, Georgia State University College of Law and J. Mack Robinson College of Business, 2011

Thomas Jefferson Award for Teaching, Emory University, 2011

Fellow of the American Chemical Society, 2010-Present

ACS Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame, 2010

Giswold Award, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Minnesota, 2010

Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Emory University, 2006

Herty Award, Georgia Section of the ACS, 2005

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2003-present

Biochemical Industry Growth Award, Georgia Biomedical Partnership, 2003

Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Chemistry, 2000-Present

Emory Williams Distinguished Teaching Award for the Natural Sciences, Emory University, 1987

Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Fellowship, 1981-86

Fellow of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 1980-1984