Religion Faculty Honors and Awards

April 2020-

Congratulations to three Religion faculty who have recently received news of having earned honors and awards: Professor Wei Wu, one of two Emory faculty nominated for the National Center for Faculty Development & Diversity’s Faculty Success Program, was awarded a spot in this highly competitive program to mentor faculty on their way to promotion and tenure. Professsor Devaka Premawardhana won one of the prestigious Fulbright research-teaching one-year awards to spend a year teaching and conducting ethnographic work in Mozambique in 2021. And Professor Joyce Flueckiger was awarded a double round of recognition for her extraordinary work in teaching, advising, and mentoring: the Women in Excellence Award, and the George P. Cuttino Award for Distinguished Mentoring. Filled with pride and joy for these great colleagues’ achievements that follow likewise great achievements, announced earlier this year, by peers in the department—James Hoesterey, Dianne Stewart, and Deborah Lipstadt, among them. Bravo, Wei, Devaka, and Joyce! Congratulations!