This Day in Business History: The European Economic Community Is Formed

January 1, 1958: The European Economic Community, known as the Common Market, becomes official. Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and The Netherlands signed the Treaty of Rome in March 1957, which laid the plan for this trade community, and was later joined by the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Greece, Portugal,and Spain. East Germany also joined after the reunification of Germany.

Source: The History Place & Ecyclopedia Britannica


Read more from the Goizueta Business Library collection:


The Making of a World Trading Power: The European Economic Community (EEC) in the GATT Kennedy Round Negotiations (1963-67)




Ever Closer Union: An Introduction to European Integration